Côte d'Ivoire: Political structure

Content Type
Country Data and Maps
Economist Intelligence Unit
No abstract is available.
Politics, Summary, Political structure
Political Geography
Côte d'Ivoire

Official name

République de Côte d'Ivoire

Form of state

Unitary republic

Legal system

Based on the July 2000 Constitution and the Napoleonic Code

National legislature

National Assembly; 255 members elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term

National elections

The latest presidential election took place on October 31st 2020; the next presidential election is due by October 2025; a legislative election was held in December 2016; the next legislative election is due in March 2021

Head of state

The president, elected by universal suffrage to a five-year term in October 2020

National government

A new government will be appointed following the March 2021 legislative election

Main political parties

A new unified party, the Rassemblement des houphouëtistes pour la démocratie et la paix (RHDP) was created in mid-2018. It includes the ruling Rassemblement des républicains (RDR), the Union pour la démocratie et la paix en Côte d'Ivoire (UDPCI) and other smaller parties. The other main parties are the Parti démocratique de Côte d'Ivoire-Rassemblement démocratique africain (PDCI-RDA-known as the PDCI), Parti ivoirien des travailleurs (PIT) and Union démocratique et citoyenne (UDCY); the former ruling party, the Front populaire ivoirien (FPI), is not represented in parliament following its boycott of the 2011 poll, but it maintains considerable popular support

Key ministers

President: Alassane Ouattara

Vice-president: Vacant

Prime minister & state budget & portfolio: Hamed Bakayoko

President of the National Assembly: Amadou Soumahoro

Agriculture & rural development: Kobenan Kouassi Adjoumani

Animal & fish resources: Moussa Dosso

Communication & media: Sidi Tiémoko Touré

Construction & urban planning: Bruno Nabagne Koné

Culture: Vacant

Defence: Hamed Bakayoko

Economy & finance: Sangafowa Coulibaly

Employment & social security: Pascal Abinan Kouakou

Foreign affairs: Ally Coulibaly

Health & public hygiene: Aouélé Eugene Aka

Higher education & scientific research: Adama Diawara

Industry & commerce: Souleymane Diarrassouba

Interior & security: Diomandé Vagondo

Justice: Sansan Kambilé

Mines & geology: Jean-Claude Kouassi

National Reconciliation: Kouadio Konan Bertin

Petroleum, energy & renewables: Abdourahmane Cissé

Planning & development: Nialé Kaba

Public service: Issa Coulibaly

Sport: Paulin Danho

Transport: Amadou Koné

Water & forests: Alain-Richard Donwahi

Governor of the regional central bank (BCEAO)

Tiémoko Meyliet Koné

Data provided by: