Bahamas: Political structure

Content Type
Country Data and Maps
Economist Intelligence Unit
No abstract is available.
Politics, Summary, Political structure
Political Geography

Official name

Commonwealth of the Bahamas

Form of state

Representative democracy

Head of state

Queen Elizabeth II, represented by a governor-general (currently Sir Cornelius Smith) appointed on the advice of the Bahamian cabinet

The executive

The prime minister, appointed by the governor-general, heads a government responsible to the House of Assembly (the lower house)

National legislature

Bicameral; the 16-member Senate (the upper house) has nine members appointed on the advice of the prime minister; four on the advice of the opposition leader; and three on the advice of the prime minister, after discussion with the opposition leader. The 39-member lower house is directly elected by district and sits for no longer than five years

Legal system

Based on the British system, with a UK-style hierarchy of courts: magistrates' court, Supreme Court, Court of Appeal and, in some cases, the UK Privy Council

National elections

May 10th 2017; next general election due by end-May 2022

National government

The Free National Movement holds 35 of the 39 seats in the lower house

Main political organisations

Government: Free National Movement (FNM)

Opposition: Progressive Liberal Party (PLP), four seats

Prime minister & minister of finance: Hubert Minnis

Deputy prime minister: Desmond Bannister

Ministers of state

Agriculture & marine resources: Michael Pintard

Attorney-general & legal affairs: Carl Bethel

Education: Jeffrey Lloyd

Environment & housing: Romauld Ferreira

Financial services, trade & industry, & immigration: Ellsworth Johnson

Foreign affairs: Darren Henfield

Health: Renward Ricardo Wells

Labour: Dion Alexander Foulkes

National security: Marvin Dames

Public service & national insurance: Brensil Rolle

Public works: Desmond Bannister

Social services & urban development: Frankie Campbell

Tourism & aviation: Dionisio D'Aguilar

Transport & local government: Dion Alexander Foulkes

Youth, sports & culture: Iram Lewis

Public service & national insurance: Brensil Rolle

Grand Bahama: Kwasi Thompson

Central bank governor

John Rolle

Data provided by: