Suriname: Political structure

Content Type
Country Data and Maps
Economist Intelligence Unit
No abstract is available.
Politics, Summary, Political structure
Political Geography

Official name

Republic of Suriname

Form of government

Presidential, based on the 1987 constitution

The executive

Cabinet of ministers appointed and headed by the president

National legislature

Unicameral 51-seat National Assembly elected for a five-year term by direct universal suffrage

Legal system

Three cantonal courts headed by a Court of Justice, the six members of which are appointed for life

National elections

National legislative elections took place on May 25th 2020. The next general election is scheduled to take place in May 2025

National government

Vooruitstrevende Hervormings Partij (VHP)

Main political organisations

Government: VHP (20 seats) in coalition with Algemene Bevrijdings- en Ontwikkelingspartij (ABOP, eight seats), the Nationale Partij Suriname (NPS, three seats) and Pertjajah Luhur (PL, two seats)

Opposition parties: Nationale Democratische Partij (NDP, 16 seats); Broederschap en Eenheid in de Politiek (BEP, two seats)

Key ministers

President: Chandrikapersad Santokhi (VHP)

Vice-president: Ronnie Brunswijk (ABOP)

Agriculture & fisheries: Parmanand Sewdien

Defence: Krishnakoemarie Mathura

Education, science & culture: Marie Levens

Economic affairs & technological innovation: Saskia Walden

Finance & planning: Armand Achaibersing

Foreign affairs: Albert Ramdin

Health: Amar Ramadhin

Housing & social affairs: Uraiqit Ramsaran

Internal affairs: Bronto Somohardjo

Justice & police: Kenneth Amoksie

Labour, employment & youth affairs: Rishma Kuldipsingh

Natural resources: David Abiamofo

Public works: Riad Nurmohamed

Regional development & sports: Gracia Emanuel

Spatial planning & environment: Silvano Tjong-Ahin

Transport, communication & tourism: Albert Jubithana

Central bank president

Maurice Roemer

Data provided by: