Cameroon: Political structure

Content Type
Country Data and Maps
Economist Intelligence Unit
No abstract is available.
Politics, Summary, Political structure
Political Geography

Official name

République du Cameroun

Form of state

Unitary republic

Legal system

Based on English common law and the Napoleonic Code

National legislature

National Assembly with 180 members; elected by universal suffrage; members sit three times a year, in March, June and November, and serve a term of five years. Senate with 100 members, 70 of which elected by indirect suffrage and 30 appointed by the president

National elections

October 2018 (presidential) and February 2020 (legislative); the next presidential election is due in October 2025, and the next legislative election is due in early 2025

Head of state

President; elected by universal suffrage

National government

Consists of the prime minister and Council of Ministers; includes the Rassemblement démocratique du peuple camerounais (RDPC) and the Union nationale pour la démocratie et le progrès (UNDP); the cabinet was last reshuffled in October 2015. The composition of the parliament and the government below reflects the situation before the February 2020 legislative election

Main political parties

RDPC, 153 seats in the National Assembly; Social Democratic Front (SDF), 16 seats; Union démocratique du Cameroun (UDC), six seats; UNDP, four seats; and Mouvement progressiste (MP), one seat

President: Paul Biya

Prime minister: Joseph Dion Ngute

Vice-prime minister & relations with assemblies: Amadou Ali

Ministers of state

Justice: Laurent Esso

Tourism & leisure: Bello Bouba Maigari

Key ministers

Agriculture & rural development: Henri Ayissi Eyebe

Commerce: Luc Magloire Mbarga Atangana

Communication: Issa Tchiroma Bakary

Decentralisation & local development: Elanga Obam George

Defence: Edgar Alain Mébé Ngo'o

Economy, planning & regional development: Alamine Ousmane Mey

Employment & vocational training: Zacharie Perevet

Energy & water: Eloundou Essomba Gaston

Environment: Pierre Hele

External relations: Samuel Mvondo Ayolo

Finance: Alamine Ousmane Mey

Health: André Mama Fouda

Higher education: Jacques Fame Ndongo

Industry, mining & technology: Ernest Ngwaboubou

Labour & social security: Gregoire Owona

Post & telecommunications: Libom Li Likeng

Public service & administrative reforms: Michel Ange Angouin

Public works: Emmanuel Nganou Djoumessi

Secretary-general at the presidency: Peter Agbor Tabi

Transport: Edgar Alain Mebe Ngo'o

Governor of Banque des Etats de l'Afrique centrale

Abbas Mahamat Tolli

Data provided by: