New Report Examines East Africa and the Intergovernmental Authority on Development

Solomon Dersso
Content Type
Working Paper
International Peace Institute
The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), composed of Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, and Uganda with its secretariat headquartered in Djibouti, covers northeast Africa, a region continuing to experience major changes, arguably more than any other part of the continent. This is the only region of Africa where colonially drawn borders have been redrawn. In contrast to other regions of Africa, this is also where the prospect of further redrawing of borders—with Somaliland seeking international recognition as a separate state—remains a real possibility.
Conflict Prevention, Security, Development, Economics, Environment, Regional Cooperation, Governance
Political Geography
Uganda, Kenya, Africa, Sudan, Ethiopia, Somalia, South Sudan