Maritime Jurisdiction in the Three China Seas

Ju Guoxing
Content Type
Working Paper
University of California Institute on Global Conflict and Cooperation (IGCC)
The three China Seas (the Yellow Sea, the East China Sea, and the South China Sea) are all enclosed or semi-enclosed and studded with so many offshore and mid-ocean islands that nowhere does the distance from one headland or island to another approach 400 nautical miles. With the extension of national jurisdiction over maritime resources, no seabed in the area is left unclaimed.
International Law, Sovereignty
Political Geography
China, Israel, Southeast Asia